Intro

Standard

In the eyes of the law, we are adults at 18.  God help anyone who actually believes that.

Brantley wearing bud light box as a hat

The truth is this:  Becoming an adult isn’t something that just happens 18 years after the moment you were born.  It’s a series of painful and sometimes hilarious mistakes that you learn from and do everything you can to avoid repeating.

My whole life I’ve known that I wanted to be a storyteller.  That dream evolved from aspiring to write books to falling in love with film.  Now, I’m 2+ years out of college with a Film degree (with a Political Science minor) and like most Millennials, I’m just trying to find my way in today’s off-kilter professional world.   

Growing up is different for everyone.  This is my journey – starting with some of my more embarrassing (but amusing) mistakes and insights when I first moved away for college and continuing through present day, where I now realize that I have more questions than answers about where I want to go with my life.    

Anecdotes won’t necessarily be told chronologically, but I will do my best to provide markers to help piece together the big picture.  
Names of individuals will be changed to protect them from the ‘Googling’ of future employers.  We are all having enough trouble in this job market as it is, I don’t want to make life more difficult by broadcasting anyone’s proficiency with a beer bong to the whole world.
Illegal activity is all fake and not real and just added for dramatic effect, because even the most trivial of victimless-crime laws are important and should be obeyed lest society dissolve into violence and anarchy.  Also, I would never do anything that bad so this is not a confession or anything that you could use against me in a court of law, okay?

I hope you enjoy the ride and find some of these stories relatable. 

Drop me a comment and let me know if you do!

Leave a Reply

